For over 60 years Cork Film Festival has celebrated excellence in filmmaking, championing new and emerging voices, as well as established filmmakers through its prestigious Awards. Three of our Awards – the Grand Prix Irish Short, the Grand Prix International Short and newly in 2019, the Grand Prix Documentary Short Award – are Academy Award®-qualifying, ensuring that the winners in Cork will be automatically longlisted for the Oscars.


The 63rd Cork Film Festival Awards Ceremony took place at the Triskel on Sunday 18 November 2018

hosted by Dave MacArdle (Red FM)

Cork Film Festival Youth Jury Award

Crystal Swan

Director – Darya Zhuk

Cork Film Festival Candidate for the European Film Awards 2019

Black Sheep

Director – Ed Perkins

Documentary Short Award

Black Line (Ligne Noir)

Directors – Mark Olexa and Francesca Scalisi

Best Cork Short Award

Presented by Red FM

The Shift

Director – Megan K Fox

Best Director: Irish Short

Supported by
Screen Directors Guild Ireland

Oonagh Kearney

(Five Letters to the Stranger Who Will Dissect My Brain)

Audience Award

Presented by The River Lee

Float Like A Butterfly

Writer and Director – Carmel Winters


Crystal Swan – Darya Zhuk
Girl – Lukas Dhont
I Do Not Care If We Go Down In History As Barbarians – Radu Jude
Mug – Malgorzata Szumowska
Night Comes On – Jordana Spiro
One Day – Zsófia Szilágyi
This Teacher – Mark Jackson


Gradam na Féile do Scannáin Faisnéise

(Award for Cinematic Documentary)

Hale County This Morning, This Evening 

Director – RaMell Ross


Inventing Tomorrow – Laura Nix
No Greater Law – Tom Dumican
Same God – Linda Midgett
The Gospel of Eureka – Michael Palmieri, Donal Mosher
Three Identical Strangers – Tim Wardle
Town of Strangers – Treasa O’Brien
What Walaa Wants – Christy Garland

Gradam Spiorad na Féile

(Spirit of the Festival Award)
Presented by The Gate Cinema


Border (Gräns) 

Director- Ali Abbasi


Diane – Kent Jones
Shoplifters – Hirokazu Kore-eda
Sorry to Bother You – Boots Riley
Tel Aviv on Fire – Sameh Zoabi
The Dig – Andrew Tohill, Ryan Tohill
The Favourite – Yorgos Lanthimos
The Old Man & the Gun – David Lowery

Grand Prix International Short Award

Academy Award® Qualifying   Category

Schoolyard Blues (Skolstartssorg) 

Director – Maria Eriksson

Grand Prix Irish Short Award

Academy Award® Qualifying   Category
Proudly presented by RTÉ Supporting the Arts


Director – Helen Warner