European Film Awards 2021 to be Live-Streamed on CIFF website on Saturday 11th December

Cork International Film Festival is delighted to collaborate with the European Film Academy in hosting a livestream of the 34th European Film Awards on Saturday, 11th December.

Renowned actress and TV moderator Annabelle Mandeng, will host the ceremony which will be broadcast live at 6pm GMT (7pm CET). Tune in here.

This year’s award European Lifetime Achievement will be presented to Hungarian filmmaker Márta Mészaros; Danish director Susanne Bier will be awarded the European Achievement in World Cinema award. The award for European Innovative Storytelling goes to Steve McQueen for his outstanding series SMALL AXE.

The full nominations list includes the very best of European film talent, much of which we had the pleasure of screening at the 66th Cork International Film Festival last month, including Julia Ducournau’s Titane; Juho Kuosmanen’s Compartment No. 6; Valdimar Jóhannsson’s Lamb; Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s Flee; Salomé Jashi’s Taming the Garden; Radu Jude’s Bad Luck Banging or Loony Porn; and Sebastian Meise’s Great Freedom.

We are also delighted that Cartoon Saloon’s Wolfwalkers, which premiered at CIFF in November 2020 is also nominated as Best European Animated Feature Film.

About the European Film Academy

Founded in 1988, the European Film Academy seeks to support and connect its 4,100 members and celebrates and promotes their work. Its aims are to share knowledge and to educate audiences of all ages about European cinema. Positioning itself as a leading organisation and facilitating crucial debates within the industry, the Academy strives to unite everyone who loves European cinema, culminating annually in the European Film Awards.

The ceremony honours the achievements of European cinema in the main categories (Film, Documentary, Discovery, Director, Actress, Actor, Screenwriter) and welcomes special guests and representatives of the European Film Academy, such as the current President Agnieszka Holland and board members Ildiko Enyedi, Nina Hoss, Baltasar Kormakur and many more. The different categories will be presented by internationally renowned talents, and the host of the Ceremony will be renowned actress and TV moderator Annabelle Mandeng.